Today:  Thursday, 19 September, 2019


Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad win 2018 Nobel Peace Prize

14:35, Friday, 05 October, 2018
Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad win 2018 Nobel Peace Prize

The 2018 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict.
     The award was announced Friday at the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo. The recipient is chosen by a committee of five people elected by the Norwegian Parliament.

Murad is a Yazidi woman from the northern Iraqi town of Sinjar, who was held as a sex slave by ISIS, she told CNN in an interview last year. She is a UN goodwill ambassador for the dignity of survivors of human trafficking.
     Announcing the award, Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, said Murad had "shown uncommon courage in recounting her own suffering and speaking up on behalf of other victims."
     Mukwege, a doctor and gynecologist, has long worked to treat thousands of women and girls affected by rape and sexual violence in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Last year's prize was awarded to the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) "for its work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its groundbreaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons."

| | |
7806 | 0